It is the time in your sons education when some important choices have to be made in relation to his Key Stage 4 courses.

We have put together a package of information that will allow you and your son to make informed choices about his GCSE options.

Below you will find:

‘The process’ information video

Subject information videos

Subject information sheets

A copy of the options form and a link to an online options form

Careers information and useful websites

Please could you take the time to go through all of this information and guidance with your son. Please get in touch with any of the below contacts if you would like more information or help with the process.

Please can you submit your options choices by Friday 1st May.

Careers Information

Start careers for 11-18s - Start Profile : Start Profile
Students and Parents,
Please use the following links to research careers and subject options and to gain impartial advice about the various pathways available:
START Profile: startprofile.com
All Year 8 have been introduced to START Profile which is a comprehensive research and personal development site linked to careers.
Students & Parents are advised to:
  • Log in
  • Students to complete the ‘My Profile’ tab ‘About Me’ quizzes – this will match searches to personal characteristics
  • Type in ‘subjects’ e.g. Maths, English, Geography, Technology etc. into the search bar and explore a wide range of careers linked to subject areas
  • Type in a specific job role into the search bar to understand what is required and to look at the routes into these careers
  • Complete selected ‘learning modules’ linked to areas of interest such as Apprenticeships
  • Bring up job profiles and look at the rates of pay, qualifications required, routes into these roles and vacancies

Key Contacts

Mrs Kane Zone Manager Year 7 & 8 – LKane@sandbachschool.org

Mr Yates 7 & 8 LIM – OYates@sandbachschool.org

Ms Brookes Year 8 SSC – LBrookes@sandbachschool.org

Mr Roberts Assistant LIM – TRoberts@sandbachschool.org

Mr Mills Careers Lead – SMills@sandbachschool.org

Curriculum Leaders

PE – SRobertson@SANDBACHSCHOOL.ORG

SEND – Hcooper@SANDBACHSCHOOL.ORG

DESIGN & TECH – Pbowyer@SANDBACHSCHOOL.ORG

LANGUAGES – CHaynes@SANDBACHSCHOOL.ORG

GEOGRAPHY – DBootherstone@SANDBACHSCHOOL.ORG

MUSIC – GBarber@SANDBACHSCHOOL.ORG

PERFORMING ARTS – DAnderson@SANDBACHSCHOOL.ORG

ICT – DWebb@SANDBACHSCHOOL.ORG

ART – ADonohue@SANDBACHSCHOOL.ORG

MATHS – LRobinson@SANDBACHSCHOOL.ORG

SCIENCE – SDuncombe@SANDBACHSCHOOL.ORG

ENGLISH – BStanley@SANDBACHSCHOOL.ORG

BUSINESS – GSmith@SANDBACHSCHOOL.ORG

HISTORY – PMcgarrigle@sandbachschool.org